The Resurgence of the New York Knicks and Kristaps Porzingis

Devlin Marino (@DevlinMarino) talks about his squad the Knicks and rookie Kristaps Porzingis, AKA KP6

knicks

I have been a Knicks fan for as long as I could remember, I’ve lived through Linsanity and saw the team fall apart, once again. So going into this year, with the Knicks having the 4th pick, I was quite optimistic. In my head, I imagined Jahlil Okafor catching lobs from Carmelo or Justise Winslow running the court from a turnover or seeing Emmanuel Mudiay splitting defenders and finishing with an emphatic dunk. What I didn’t see back months ago was a awkward looking 7’1 white Latvian power forward. I was skeptical when it happened, and almost angry. Actually I was pissed, because this only added to the anger that the Sixers could have not drafted Okafor and he would’ve fell to New York. And then instead of grabbing Mudiay, we draft this unknown guy from Latvia.

After I had gotten like “hey I’m okay with this”, the Knicks traded away Tim Hardaway Jr. to the Hawks for Notre Dame’s star Jerian Grant. This move to me seemed unnecessary. The Knicks traded away THJ, a player who has played more than a year in the NBA and is a proven scorer. This is the puzzling part, Grant is almost the same player as Hardaway Jr.; I get that the Knicks believe that Grant has a higher ceiling to grow, but I have a personal bias and I just liked Hardaway Jr.

Flash forward to present day, I am eating my words. Kristaps Porzingis is playing amazing, and is putting back more dunks than Johnny Manziel puts back shots of tequila. Jerian Grant is looking pretty good. Carmelo Anthony is back to playing like Carmelo Anthony. Let’s talk about my favorite Knicks development, Derrick Williams. Derrick Williams looks like a bewildered man and plays like one. He can get UP, and throw down dunks harder. A good defender and just the role player New York needed. I see more for Derrick Williams, he has so much potential and needs more minutes.

I really couldn’t put together a best five for the Knicks but if I had to it would go

PG: Langston Galloway

SG: Jerian Grant (Afflalo when healthy)

SF: Carmelo Anthony

PF: Kristaps Porzingis

C: Robin Lopez (Porzingis when Williams is at PF)

This entry was posted in NBA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

